top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrandon Neufeld

Country 15: Shakshuka from Libya



We're halfway to 30!! For my 15th meal I decided to make Shakshuka, which is a North African breakfast dish that has become very popular in middle eastern countries like Israel. This is due to North African Jewish people immigrating to Israel. While I chose to present Shakshuka as being a Libyan dish, its ancestry is debated between multiple countries like Tunisia, Morocco and Egypt, so I am just referring to it as a North African meal.


As for the meal itself, it is a tomato stew with a slight bit of heat and then eggs are cracked into it. We were lucky enough to have fresh tomatoes is the garden so I was so happy to take advantage of those while making this. Other than tomatoes and eggs, I used some red peppers, sweet paprika, cumin, lots of garlics and then some red pepper flakes and Aleppo pepper flakes for the heat. I also topped it with some goat cheese and parsley. The tomatoes peppers and spices are left to simmer for a while to create the flavourful stew and then the eggs are added in and poached within the stew. I also served this with some homemade herb butter toast to make sure we could mop up any remainding stew.


I loved the way this turned out and my wife actually said this her favourite meal so far in this little adventure of mine. I think it will be a go to, especially on cold winter weekends, it really feels like a great comfort meal. 

 

15 down, 15 to go. Thank you so much for reading and following along on this journey. Below find more photos and an updated map.

 

Cheers,

 

Brandon



7 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page